A program that reads a file.

I need to write a program that would take student names and GPA from a file and print the names of students with GPA >3.4 into another file, my problem is that I don't know how to combine files and strings together here in this example. Please someone tell me how it should be done since I'm still new to c++.
I forgot to mention that my college uses the stdio.h library and I don't understand the iostream and other stuff.
Last edited on
Hello isuckatcpp,

If your college says to use either the class is really C not C++ or you should find a better college that will teach you what you need to know. "stdio.h" is an old C header file and has no real place in a C++ program.

After reading Repeater's link you will this for using files:
#include <iostream>   // <--- For standard input and output. "cin", "cout"
#include <fstream>    // <--- For reading and writing  to files. 
#include <chrono>     // <--- Needed for line 17 and 22.
#include <thread>     // <--- Needed for line 17 and 22.

// ************************************ INPUT *****************************************************

std::string iFileName{ "" };  // <--- Put file name here.

std::ifstream inFile;

inFile.open(iFileName);

if (inFile.is_open())
	{
		std::cout << "\n File " << iFileName << " is open" << std::endl;
		std::this_thread::sleep_for(std::chrono::seconds(2));  // <--- Needs header files chrono" and "thread".
	}
	else
	{
		std::cout << "\n File " << iFileName << " did not open" << std::endl;
		std::this_thread::sleep_for(std::chrono::seconds(3));  // <--- Needs header files chrono" and "thread".
		exit(1);  // <--- No need to continue.
	}

// ************************************ OUTPUT ****************************************************

std::string oFileName{ "" };

std::ofstream outFile;

outFile.open(oFileName, std::ios::trunc | std::ios::ate);

if (outFile.is_open())
	{
		std::cout << "\n File " << oFileName << " is open" << std::endl;