Sequential Access Files Program

Creating a program that lets me save payroll amounts in a sequential access file using a loop. Once I have entered them all they should appear in the file, and I want to make sure I'm doing this right as i'm pretty new to this.
  // Chapter 14 Ex. 19.cpp : Defines the entry point for the console application.
//

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
using namespace std;
#include <string>

int main()
{
	double payroll = 0.0;
	ofstream outFile;

outFile.open("Introductory 19.txt", ios::app);

if (outFile.is_open())
	{
		while (payroll != -1)
			cout << "Enter payroll (-1 to end)";
		cin >> payroll;
	}
	else
		cout << "Introductory 19.txt could not be opened" << endl;
    return 0;
}

This code

1) Writes nothing to file. That's pretty bad for a programme that's meant to write to file.

2) Has a while loop that will run forever, saying "Enter payroll (-1 to end)" forever and ever. The user won't get to type anything in; the while loop doesn't contain any code for taking input. This is also bad.
Hello Databend,

Repeater has said what I was about to say. The program is a good start, but needs some work.

Checking that the stream is open is good and your code will work, but with an out put file if there is a problem the file will be created. This check works better with an input stream.

I do not understand why people are taught or feel the need to put the entire program in the block of the if statement. Checking that the stream is good is all that should be done. Either you do the if block and bypass the else or you do the else block and exit the program. The program should follow the else block.

I hope that you find this a better way to structure your program. Do not miss the comments in the code:

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
#include <chrono>  // <--- For line 24.
#include <thread>  // <--- For line 24.

using namespace std;  // <--- Best not to use.

int main()
{
	double payroll = 0.0;
	ofstream outFile;