Code Shouldn't Work - But Why?

So I'm still learning C++, this was a bit of code that shouldn't and doesn't work. However, I don't fully understand why. Here are my questions - How does Main.cpp see the definition of getSquarePerimeter that's inside Square.cpp if it was never #include into Main.cpp? The second question is how come this code wont work - it looks like it should to me. The solution to making the code work is to remove the definition from Square.h into Square.cpp and have getSquareSides simply be a forward declaration - but what does that change to make it work? Lastly, even if you don't include #include Square.h in Square.cpp, the compiler will still assume that that Square.cpp is defining the already declared getSquareSides and getSquarePerimeter - how? How does the compiler assume that the definitions for them are in Square.cpp if Square.h was never #Include into Square.cpp?

Sorry for the ton of questions - But I'd rather not just assume things that would allow all this to make sense only for those assumptions to have been wrong. Thanks!

Square.h :

#ifndef SQUARE_H
#define SQUARE_H

int getSquareSides()
{
return 4;
}

int getSquarePerimeter(int sideLength); // forward declaration for getSquarePerimeter

#endif

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Square.cpp :

#include <iostream>
#include "stdafx.h"
#include "square.h" // square.h is included once here

int getSquarePerimeter(int sideLength)
{
return sideLength * getSquareSides();
}

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Main.cpp :

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
#include "square.h" // square.h is also included once here

int main()
{
std::cout << "a square has " << getSquareSides() << " sides" << std::endl;
std::cout << "a square of length 5 has perimeter length " << getSquarePerimeter(5) << std::endl;

return 0;
}
Last edited on