Double free or corruption, double linked list

Hello everyone.
I am writing a program where I am creating arrays with new and pointing to them using pointers.
I know, most of you would suggest me to use vectors here instead. But, I am just learning things now and have kept vectors for a later practice.

I am calling a function that creates an array of size 20 using new and after performing some math, returns a pointer to the array. In order to keep my memory free, I delete the arrays that I no longer need using delete[]. Here is my code outline:

int *Sptr, *Sdptr;

while(true)
  {
         // capture an image as Img

Sdptr = my_func(Img);

// Perform certain operations on the array to check for if image passes  test for level 1

if(level1 == 1)
       {
              // capture another image as Img

Sptr = my_func(Img);

// Perform operations on the array for level2 test
              if(level2 == 1)
              {
                     //post-processing operations

}
              delete [] Sptr;
       }
        delete [] Sdptr;

// exit while loop if esc key is pressed

}

This program compiles well. While running, the program runs well until level1 is passed for the first time. For first time inside level1, it is successfully able to clear level2. It then completes the post-processing operations and starts to repeat the while loop as it should. It is now that I get an error saying

*** error in ./my_prog: double-free or corruption (!prev): 0x005c0308 ***

or

*** error in ./my_prog: corruption double-linked list

A more detailed dubugging shows that I get th double free error when I try to delete Sptr for the second time after one complete successful cycle.

I am sorry, I can't display all the code as this is a part of my college project and I do not have enough permission from my instructor.
Last edited on
You could try:
while ( true )
{
  int * Sdptr = my_func(Img);
  if (level1 == 1)
  {
    int * Sptr = my_func(Img);
    if ( level2 == 1)
    {
    }