Is it a default constructor?

I am studying C++ Primer, and it says "The default constructor is used automatically whenever an object is default or value initialized" on section 7.5.3. I've always thought a default constructor is called when an object is created without parameters. But based on the quote, if I initialize an obj sd:

Sales_data *sd = new Sales_data("ISBN: 5555");

then the constructor below is called:

Sales_data(const std::string &s): bookNo(s) {}

My question: Are all constructors defined in a class/struct default constructors? Thanks a lot!

struct Sales_data {
  public:
    Sales_data() = default;
    Sales_data(const std::string &s): bookNo(s) {}  //*****
  }
Last edited on
1) No need to put the access specifier in line 2. All members of a struct are public by default.

2) A default constructor sets every member variable to 0. Just like what you did in line 4, with an overloaded constructor, set every member variable to 0.
Last edited on
Structs are default public. Classes are default private.

Constructors and destructors are mainly a classes thing, but structs do have them, the difference being that they are private by default in a class and are public by default in a struct.

Default constructors do not automatically set everything to zero.
No, not all constructors are default. If you define a constructor, you no longer get a default one. Once you define one, the default one is gone for good unless you put " = default".
You really should get in the habit of using a zero-argument constructor to initialize your variables.

http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/classes/
Last edited on
Just to be sure I get it right...... if I call "Sales_data(const std::string &s): bookNo(s) {}" with an empty string "" as a parameter, I set sd to point to an empty string?

Sales_data *sd = new Sales_data("ISBN: 5555");
Yes. You can also have a bunch of different constructors, all taking different parameters. You have free reign over that.