Questions about C++

Good Morning Programmers,

I am new to C++ and before I start on it, I have a few questions regarding it.

1) Correct my concept of Libraries if its wrong:

Libraries are like add-ons for C++ language for more advanced coding as a library as extra commands you can add in your program to produce better softwares. Is this correct?

2) How can you make your application (whether just a simple DOS program or a GUI software) compatible with either 32 bit or 64 bit hardware?

I'm very confused here. I would really like to know because there are in fact many softwares which can run on both hardwares and most only on one. Now before I start coding even a DOS program, tell me how is a program made compatible for a certain hardware. Does it depend on your OWN system's hardware that if its 64bit, whatever you code will be in 64bit also? And, if its possible to manage the compatibility, then how can it be done? Is it also possible to make it compatible for BOTH hardwares?

3) How is a GUI application made with C++?

I've seen and read that there is a library which allows you to create an average looking GUI application with codes like for buttons and main window etc, is this correct? Does such a library exist and if it does then how hard is it to create a GUI with it? Secondly, I've seen on tutorials that people mostly use Visual C++ as a default for IDE or Visual Studio because it allows you to create GUI just by drag and dropping the objects, is this true? Which one is better or both are better?

4) Tell me in advance how the following can be done in C++

All right, so before I ask you how, I'd like to tell you why. I basically want to use C++ to develop programs, both GUI and DOS to speed up my work (I'm a freelancer) for example automating some tasks. I pretty well know that its not easy but its not impossible also, so please do not discourage me and just help me. Now to the how question.