Hello and help!

Hello everyone.

My enquiry is a little bit of an abstract one, compared to a specific programming question.

I've recently started learning C++, and rather than learning it to be a programmer per se, I'm learning in a guerrilla fashion for a single purpose. I'm not very good at learning in the typical manner; I work better by getting a grasp of a concept in general, then starting off with the first step in achieving what I want and filling in the blanks. I have ploughed through tutorials and feel that I have a good handle on the basics, such as functions, pointers & referencing and the concept and basic syntax of OOP. I completely understand that programming a full project rather than working my way up from basic tasks may seem counter-intuitive by some, and perhaps foolish by others. It is however, how I seem to cope best, and not lose interest or motivation.

My issue is, of course, that C++ is huge and often un-specific. My previous experience is of a visual programming language (Max/MSP - boxes and cables style), which has given me a lot of useful knowledge and working methods, but C++ is a different beast.

I am using a library called JUCE which is very good for doing what I want to do, and presents an environment and toolbox that will cut out a large part of the bulk, and often unrelated, work. I am also using Xcode.