Windows Programming - January 2011 (Page 2)

DirectX issues.

Background and greetings: Hi I'm a university student studying computer games, as part of my course i must assemble a 2d game engine in C++ using Directx as a f...
[1 reply] : try this #pragma comment(lib, "d3dx9.lib") #include <d3d9.h> #... (by whitekid)
memory issues with C++ algorithm in Windows

Hello, I am not sure if this is the place to ask. I develop an algorithm in C++ under Windows XP with Visual studio 2008, the algorithm is proved to ...
[no replies]
passing by reference? safe?

Hi i just have a quick question about the reliability of passing via reference. One of the fisrt thing I learn when learning C++ is that this is unsafe. ...
[3 replies] Last: You just need to make sure that the lifetime of the caller outlives th... (by onur)
Using Dev C++ with Turbo C++ compiler

Hi all, Could I use Dev C++ with the compiler of Turbo C++? Please tell me how to set it up. Thanks in advance
[6 replies] Last: Because gcc makes really big .exe files, and it doesnt handle the o... (by freddie1)
send data using serial connection?

hi, I'm building a robot that will be controlled via bluetooth. I already have the connection set up I just need to know how to send data to it using a seria...
[no replies]
ODBC access via MFC

I have a problem calling Open method within CRecordset class. Did everything just as MSDN said. The code is simple: #include <iostream> #include <afxdb.h...
[1 reply] : Why is the exception mysterious? (by kbw)
Copy Source Volume to Destination Volume copy by sector level/file level

Hi All, I am a new member of this forum. i have some query related to USB device. Actually , i want to copy a file/ folder by sector or file level from One ...
[1 reply] : xcopy /s (by kbw)
Deallocate vector of pointers

Here is the scenario: I have a Mesh class that is abstract and then I have a Cube, Sphere, Cone, and Cylinder class that inherit from Mesh. vector<Mesh...