Windows Programming - April 2011 (Page 2)

reading in from a file to a certain point

hi all, question here about how to most efficiently do some file reading. I have a txt file, and must read through the data until i hit a certain word (we'...
[2 replies] Last: you may edit it to your liking/usage EDIT:: i got this function from ... (by metl wolf)
Crash on Vista, works on XP. Ofstream problem ?

Hi there, My program crashes on Vista but works in xp (even in compatibly mode on vista). I found out where the crash is, but I don't know why: ...
[5 replies] Last: Hi there, What I tried: - Change Computername into ComputerName[MAX_... (by Ad Fundum)
How to Make a Calculator in Visual C++

last time i posted this i realized it was in the wrong forum. anyways, please comment, the video is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dMQU_sDAmMw
[2 replies] Last: i dont think anyone using visual c++ would not have a good knowledge o... (by SpartanX)
gcnew keyword

Hi, I'm studying C++/CLI programming and I have problems with tracking handles. In some examples an object, such as an array, is created using the keyword 'gcn...
[2 replies] Last: OK. Thank you for clarification. (by joseph63)
Top Level '^'

I've got a question. Is the Top Level '^' a pointer? If not can it be used like a pointer? Many thanks.
[9 replies] Last: Okay that's clear to me now. Thanks! :D (by closed account 3TXyhbRD)
by bayar
Unicode Characters

how can I read arabic characters from file? when i do that i get only one character ??? i think it uses only ASCII, so can anybody help me how to read Unicode...
[3 replies] Last: You need to know what encoding was used when the file was written. (by modoran)
Winsock issues

I am programming a network application using Winsock. Here is my code: #include <iostream> //DEBUGGING PURPOSES ONLY: DELETE THIS LINE WHEN FUNCTIONAL #inclu...
[2 replies] Last: Sorry, I was getting highly frustrated and trying things out to see wh... (by rjalaskan)
Cursor - LoadImage