Puzzled Student

Hi im really confused with c language programming.Im a middle school student and our instructor wanted us to make a program that will display the following:

displaying that should be relatively easy but our instructor asked us to use a do-while or a do-for statement.this is what i came up with
#include<stdio.h>
int main()
{
int x,y;
for (x=5;x>=1;x--)
{
for(y=1;y<=5;y++)
{
printf("%i",x);
x--;
}
printf("\n");
}
getch();
}

All this program displayed was 54321 please help ! any advice would do.
Hahaha I got the same question on my C++ exam only instead of numbers it was

I didn't get it write then, but I got home and with my brother's help. I did it. I won't give you the answer directly, I'll give you hints. If you didn't know then I'll give you the answer.

You started it kind of correctly, when you did the 2 for loops inside each other. But you gotta change something in the second for loop to make it print 5 digits, then 4, then 3, then 2, then 1.

Your program gives

If you change the 2nd for loop. HINT: Include x somewhere in the 2nd for loop.

you will get

Last edited on
I don't know if you answered it or not, but here is the code. :D
#include<iostream>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
     int x,y;
     for (x=5;x>=1;x--)
     {
          for(y=x;y>=1;y--)
          {
               cout<<y;
          }
     cout<<"\n";
     }
return 0;
}
Last edited on
Hi i'm back and Thank for your posts.But i kinda managed to correct my crappy code and here's what i came up with:

#include<stdio.h>
int main()
{
int x,y,z;
for(x=5;x>=1;x--)
{
z=x;
for(y=1;y<=z;y=y)
{
printf("%i",z);
z--;
}
printf("\n");
}
getch();
}

//but thanks anyway to hannad.
Last edited on
Hello my friend,
I see that you have corrected it, but instead of letting z into the program. Use x instead

I Edited Your Last Code Into This
#include<stdio.h>
int main()
{
	int x,y;
	for(x=5;x>=1;x--)
	{
		for(y=x;y>=1;y--)
			printf("%i",y);
		printf("\n");
	}
	getch();
}