C++: better than system("filename")?

So, i was doing a bit a browsing for info online about running files through the system("filename") command, and discovered that hackers/viruses can use it against you. So, is there an alternate/better/more secure way of running a file? thanks for your time!
Did you happen to read how these "hackers" (read as script kiddies) use system(...) against you? The underlying issue with the system(...) function on a windows platform is in the way that Windows looks for files, and no this is not resolved simply by using CreateProcess(...), which by the way would be the answer to your question. The safest method to do this is to designate the file you are trying to invoke by it's full path and run a Sanity Check on the binary file when you locate it. I don't think that Win32 has a native way to run Sanity Checks so that part is up to you.
... I'm a beginner, so could you explain to me a little more about how sanity checks, CreateProcess(), and what "kiddies" are in detial and mabey include some code examples for me? This would greately help me, and I appreciate your time and effort! ;)

also, what if your file may have more than one location (ex: the file is created in a location and because the program creating it is being run on a machine it wasnt cvreated on etc.) and you need to re-define that location is by having the program (or mabey there's some other method, like i said: only a begginner here) look at it's directory and use that to create the file.

ex: I have a list program i give to my mom to help here create grocery list (again, it's only an example). It's "current directory on my computer was... let's say my desktop. so: C:\users\username\desktop\programfile\program.exe
but, since it's on here computer the current directory is now: C:\users\mom\desktop\program\program.exe
so, isnstead of my username, it's now mom and the program won't know what the heck to do... how would a scenario like this be fixed?
Last edited on