Winsock Programming Assistance Needed

I am trying to figure out how to do a multiplayer server in Winsock. I need help with connections and data management. I want to know how I can let multiple clients connect to the server and send data to the server (example: movement, login, etc.) and the server be able to determine who is sending the data and then send the data to all clients other than the client who sent it. I am fairly new to Winsock but I am wiling to listen to people and learn. I have it where a client can connect and the server knows it is, but I am not sure how to go about the above, if I even need to change much.

Here is an example of what I would want to happen: Player 1 tries to connect to the server. The server accepts the connection. Player 1 sends the server their login details. The server checks the login details and sends player 1 a confirmation weather the login was successful or not. Lets say it was, then player 2 connects and same as player 1 happens, except this time when player 2 connects player 1 is notified. Then say player 1 moves 1 to the right, player 1 sends some data to the server the server then sends the data to all players other than player 1, in this case just to player 2. Then when one of them disconnects the other is notified.

That is a basic overview of what I would want. I assume the easiest way to handle the data is to have a header sorta speak sent with the message that is sent before the rest of the data, but how I would implement that I don't know.

I am using Game Maker (http://yoyogames.com/) to make the client. I am going to be using either this: http://gmc.yoyogames.com/index.php?showtopic=90437 or http://gmc.yoyogames.com/index.php?showtopic=509556 on the client side to handle sockets.

Thanks,
legobear154
Here is the full description for winsock programming and sample project cyber management source code.
http://codeincodeblock.blogspot.com/2011/10/winsock-programming-sample-project.html