Simple game in win32

I am new to win32 programing and I am trying to write a simple game in which there are fifteen rectangles on the screen and the user can take up to three away how can I make a keyboard imput of 1, 2 or 3 remove said amount of rectangles
As soon as I read this I think a half dozen ways popped into my head. First we need to know if you are using a console, WIN32 GUI Window or some other third party library. But also, for my own benefit, why aren't you using the mouse for input (ignore this question if you are writing for a console)?
If you are new and you want to make console game the try this link http://codeincodeblock.blogspot.com/2011/06/mini-projet-snake-game-in-c.html
or browse www.codeincodeblock.blogspot.com

From this link you will get source code for console snake game which may help you in your project.In this blog you also find source code of other game e.g quiz game in c ,math quiz game in windows form application,Maze game in windows form application,3D bounce game in openGL etc.
i am new to win32 programing and i want to write a simple game like car race in console so please help me
without using graphics making car race game is difficult because drawing car image is impossible.
In my earlier post I have given like for console snake game source code so you have to choose similar to this game.