Display an Icon and Text in a Window

I am new to Windows programming and need some help with a simple task(?!) How do I display a folder, with icon and name in a window?
Last edited on
Obtaining the system icons for files and folders is no simple thing. Is this what you are after? Or will any folder icon do the trick?

If you are looking for a way of obtaining/enumerating the folders, that's easily googled.
I've been doing some googling and assuming I have to use getfileinfo and displayimage for this task. And yes I am looking to display system icons for folders and files. I am reading through Petzold and making progress. Something like this to get the icon?

SHFILEINFO FileInfo = { 0 };
SHGetFileInfo( FilePath,
&FileInfo,
sizeof( FileInfo ),
SHGFI_ICON );
Last edited on
Are you trying to display the contents of the folder, as well as its name and icon?

Nothing to do with the Shell API is "simple"!

Or are you using the File Management API (FindFirstFile, etc.) to enumerate the files, so you only need SHGetFileInfo to get the icon?

Andy
Andy