Simple messagebox LNK ERROR

I just started learning windows programming and my first program wont link correctly.

here is the error:

fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals

and here is the code:

#include <windows.h>

int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstace, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance,
				   PSTR cmdLine, int showCmd)
{
	MessageBox(0, "First Win32 Program", "Window Title", MB_OK);
}
Last edited on
It should tell you what the unresolved external is. can you provide that additional information?

I am guessing that is is "main" or some variation thereof, and you have failed to specify your project as a Windows Application, rather than a console one. If you are unsure how to do this, I could probably help you with Visual Studio or Code::Blocks. What IDE are you using?
Last edited on
Oh my bad im using VC++ 2010 Express Edition and the whole error is:

1>LINK : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _WinMainCRTStartup
1>C:\Users\david\Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\Win32 Module II\Debug\Win32 Module II.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
Hmm... I've just successfully built your code in a new empty Win32 project in Visual Studio 2010.

Try setting WINDOWS as the Subsystem setting in the linker settings (Project -> Properties -> Configuration Properties -> Linker -> System -> Subsystem). If you are using both Debug and release configurations, remember to change it for both.

--------------------------
On a side note, consider wrapping your string literals with _T( ) when passing them to WinAPI functions.
MessageBox could turn into MessageBoxA (ASCII) or MessageBoxW (Unicode) depending on project settings. You are passing it ASCII strings, so if you were to change your project to Unicode, it would't compile.