Still Trying To Understand Pointers

Pretend I'm an amateur. Shouldn't be hard to do. Now, pretend I don't understand the following, which I don't. Then, remembering that we're pretending I'm an amateur, please explain to me simply, concisely, but sufficiently why this is so --

int main()
{
	char* ptr1 = "Computer";

cout << "*ptr1 = " << *ptr1 << endl << endl;
	cout << "ptr1 = " << ptr1 << endl << endl;

return 0;
}

The output is:

*ptr1 = C

ptr1 = Computer

Why am I getting only one character with the first, and the whole enchilada with the second?

I know it has a lot to do with the fact that *ptr1 is referring to the address (I think), but it seems that I should get the whole word when I declare it that way, for if I make it an array it works differently.
Last edited on
ptr1 is a pointer to char (like the name implies, a char stores a single character), so dereferencing gets you a character.
However, when printing a pointer to char, it is treated as a pointer to the beginning of a C string. See
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C_string

Pointers to char are treated special in that regard. When trying to print other pointer types (e.g. int*) you'll get a representation of the address it contains.
Last edited on
I understand what you're saying, but I still don't understand the concept. For example, if I do this --

char* ptr[] = {
"one",
"two",
three"
} 

Then ptr[0] = one, ptr[1]= two, ptr[2] = three, i.e., it translates to the whole word. But I guess it's the same thing because I'm not dereferencing here either. I guess I'll read that article carefully. I'm also reading this article --

http://pw1.netcom.com/~tjensen/ptr/pointers.htm
Well, in that case you have an array of char pointers. Each of those pointers points to the beginning of a string literal (those are C strings).
Now if you write ptr[0], you have a char pointer and you're back at the first example.