First Attempt at Multithreading

This is my first attempt at multithreading, based on some code from MSDN.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
#include <windows.h> //"For all things Windows, include windows.h!"

volatile bool Locked = false;

unsigned long Thread0(int* val)
{
	while(Locked)
	{
		Sleep(0);
	}
	Locked = true;
	cout << "The number of the day is: " << *val << endl;
	Locked = false;
	Sleep(0);
	while(Locked)
	{
		Sleep(0);
	}
	Locked = true;
	cout << "The number of the morning is: " << unsigned long(val) << endl;
	Locked = false;
	return(0);
}

unsigned long Thread1(int* val)
{
	while(Locked)
	{
		Sleep(0);
	}
	Locked = true;
	cout << "The number of the night is: " << *val << endl;
	Locked = false;
	return(0);
}

int main()
{
	int temp0 = 7;
	int temp1 = 14;

HANDLE hThread0 = CreateThread(NULL, 0, (LPTHREAD_START_ROUTINE)&Thread0, &temp0, 0, NULL);
	HANDLE hThread1 = CreateThread(NULL, 0, (LPTHREAD_START_ROUTINE)&Thread1, &temp1, 0, NULL);
	if (hThread0 == NULL || hThread1 == NULL)
	{
		if (hThread0 != NULL){ CloseHandle(hThread0); }
		if (hThread1 != NULL){ CloseHandle(hThread1); }
		cerr << "Failed to make a thread." << endl;
		cin.sync();
		cin.ignore();
		return 1;
	}

WaitForSingleObject(hThread0, 1000);
	CloseHandle(hThread0);
	WaitForSingleObject(hThread1, 1000);
	CloseHandle(hThread1);

cin.sync();
	cin.ignore();
}

I feel more confident with multithreading now and how it works, and I have found that 10% of the time Thread1 gets the lock before Thread0, so I can figure out what to do with all this stuff.

I'm wondering if you guys have any pointers tips for me, or if you want to recommend one practice over another, etc. As this it my first time doing any of this stuff, and I want to make the right habits first :)
closed account (S6k9GNh0)