is uising windows.h bad? not efficient?

I had been using C language for sometime and now i want to do some work in C++ &
Windows for doing some tests with directX and OpenGL...

i need them to be efficient..

i remember i saw somewhere that using windows.h header slows your program because it contains lots of code ( of course i can imagine that there are thousands of things in the windows API )

Is using windows.h very un-efficient?
OR is there any other way that i can create a window/GUI in windows with C++ ( it better be Open Source and work with newer win versions )

does all those games out there for windows use this header....

i am very new to windows programing...

Thank You.. :)
i remember i saw somewhere that using windows.h header slows your program because it contains lots of code

That's completely untrue.

Including a header does nothing but increase compile time.

The only thing that could really make your program slower is if you execute more code. Including a header doesn't execute any code.

is there any other way that i can create a window/GUI in windows with C++ ( it better be Open Source and work with newer win versions )

There are several GUI toolkits. I prefer using them over WinAPI (windows.h) because they're easier and often cross platform. Two of the most popular are wxWidgets and Qt (you can google them to find more).

However if you're looking to be as fast and efficient as possible, then using WinAPI directly is probably the way to go, as other GUI toolkits will be using WinAPI under the hood anyway, and will add their own overhead on top of that.

Though really, you shouldn't worry so much about such things. Programs are usually slowed down more by what they do then what toolkit they use. Try writing a program first, and worry about making it faster if it's slow (note it probably won't be slow).