Simple WIN API Application

Pages: 12
Still...
Still what?

(2) What's the difference between WIN API and the projects you do in MSVC (dragging and dropping)

Read this post...

http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/windows/31963/

Now take an average bloke for example. A person who is merely struggling with C++ basics to intermediate, and try to get them to understand Windows API programming.

They'll punch the screen within 2 minutes. :)

How long have you been programming?

Win32 is a fairly advanced topic. I think an analogy applies here you might understand if you have any kind of math background. To be able to do/understand calculus you have to be very, very good at algebra. If you attempt to do caluclus without this algebra background you'll be punching the screen, wall, yourself, your buddies, etc., in two minutes.

I'm 58 and have been doing Win32 for twelve years. I started programming with main frame computers in Fortran in 1975. In the 80s and 90s I used basic and C. After 2000 I started with C++ and have experience with all the various class frameworks, and for my uses they are all in varying degrees unsatisfactory to me. I have found Win32 to be best for my projects. It wasn't created for beginners though. Petzold's Programming Windows books are the best way to learn. The target audience for Petzold's books were professional level C programmers. He stated that with that background one could become relatively proficient at Win32 in maybe 6 months; or 180 days if you used his books. So judge how you are doing by that yardstick. If you consider yourself to be a professional level C or C++ programmer you might learn it in 6 months. If your background is something less than that, figure longer. But don't talk trash about the technique because you've had your 1st three month course in console mode C++, and Win32 doesn't come in a couple days.
closed account (E60S216C)
(1) What does a troll mean?