playing sound and linking?

Hello, I am using wxDev-C++, and I'm trying to make my program play the windows chimes.wav file after the program hits a certain point, but I have been researching how on google about PlaySound() and still no idea how to do it. I have very little experience linking and making a project, I've only used 'file -> new -> program source code' when I create a new program because it doesn't require linking or setting up a project and I can press F9 to compile and run. I know about Beep() from <windows.h> but I want to use my own custom sounds.

Can anyone help me shed some light on this topic? Maybe on what I need to download or what project I need to create or how to link.. or a tutorial somewhere I can read etc.. Help is as always greatly appreciated!
closed account (D80DSL3A)
I posted some working PlaySound code in an earlier thread:

http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/windows/29294/

It is a simple windows program which is setup to play different .wav files using the keyboard.
Hopefully you can adapt it to your specific needs.

Hi I am curious does you all incorporate sounds into your programs or games ? I am considering but still I need someone voice to record the raw .wav files correct ? Which sound recording software you all using ? Preferably free :)

Usually I observe lady voice will 'attract' game players more. Is it the same old classic s*x oops I mean voice sells concept again ? :P

Last edited on
@fun2code Thank you very much for the code. I can understand about half of it but I'm sure I'd be able to understand more of it as I tinker around with it.

I have a question: For the playSoundShell.cpp code you posted, do I have to create a certain type of project and/or link to something to compile and run? I use wxDev-C++ and I have a lot of trouble working with "projects" because I have no idea what project does what right now.

@sohguanh I don't know much about recording sound but Windows have a Sound Recorder that is free
Last edited on