Path to learn Windows API

Pages: 12
I am a software developer that has been retired for 5 years, but now would like to learn some Windowes API Gui programming for personal use in my hobbies. What is the best path forward? My past applications involved real-time avionic 'systems written in C, and C++. Sometime ago (1995) I started to read Petzolds Windows programing book but I am assuming this book is way out of date now. so I am looking for some path to get me started learning the Windows API and welcome all suggestions.
Not all that much out of date. Someone has done the work to update a large part of the code to modern standards, not all though:
https://github.com/recombinant/petzold-pw5e

I'd really recommend if you want to muck around with the WinAPI you get Visual Studio 2019 if you don't already have it, it has a free Community version available.
I find Windows GUI to be a bit of a mess. Microsoft are currently moving to separate the UI out into its own API (WinUI 3) that is part of Windows App SDK.
Microsoft wrote:
The Windows App SDK is a set of new developer components and tools that represent the next evolution in the Windows app development platform. The Windows App SDK provides a unified set of APIs and tools that can be used in a consistent way by any desktop app on Windows 11 and downlevel to Windows 10, version 1809.

The Windows App SDK does not replace the existing desktop Windows app types such as .NET (including Windows Forms and WPF) and desktop Win32 with C++. Instead, it complements these existing platforms with a common set of APIs and tools that developers can rely on across these platforms.
See: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/apps/windows-app-sdk/

If you are looking to learn Windows API (Win32), fifth edition Petzold is still a good starting point. Also see: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/