GUI calling a class

Hello I am new to C++ and used to java. I have created a GUI which I need to call and execute a class file. I have been helped by someone but unfortunately the code shows error and I dnt know whats happening since I am clueless in C++

Basically this is the code

private: System::Void button1_Click(System::Object^ sender, System::EventArgs^ e) {

IOFile^ form2 = gcnew IOFile;

form2->Show();
}

Error 1 error C2065: 'IOFile' : undeclared identifier 88
Error 2 error C2065: 'form2' : undeclared identifier 88
Error 3 error C2061: syntax error : identifier 'IOFile' 88
Error 4 error C2065: 'form2' : undeclared identifier 90
Error 5 error C2227: left of '->Show' must point to class/struct/union/generic type 90

If anyone knows how to call the class please let me know

Thanks in advance

closed account (jizbqMoL)
Are you including the header file in which IOFile is declared, and/or is IOFile in a namespace?
@ embooglement,

yeah the IOFIle is included and the IOFile is in a namespace,

This is the IOFile.h code, just a trial code

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main ()
{
cout << "Hello World!";
return 0;
}

Did you use "quotation marks" or <angle brackets> to include your header file?
Last edited on
I used quotation marks for the headers.
closed account (z05DSL3A)
There is a big gap in your understanding. I'm trying to think of a good way to point you in the right direction but...

Basically the first post has some C++/CLI code that looks like it is from a Windows forms application (.net) and it looks like the code is trying to show another form. The code in the header file is C++, although C++ and C++/CLI can be mixed it is not advisable while you are trying to find your way (and this is not the way to do it).

Do you wish to learn C++ or programming for the .net platform?
Basically the first post has some C++/CLI code that looks like it is from a Windows forms application (.net) and it looks like the code is trying to show another form