Windows Form to open folder

closed account (Gy7oizwU)
Hi guys

Im pretty new to the GUI side of C++ programming. All i want to do is open a folder location in windows explorer when clicking on the button in the form?

I have three buttons, the first opens the dialogue "Hello World" and the third closes the app. Not sure how to open a folder for the second button? Eg - i want to open C:/windows

private: System::Void button1_Click(System::Object^  sender, System::EventArgs^  e) {

MessageBox::Show("Hello, World!");

}
	private: System::Void button2_Click(System::Object^  sender, System::EventArgs^  e) {
			 }
	private: System::Void button3_Click(System::Object^  sender, System::EventArgs^  e) {
				 Application::Exit();
			 }
	private: System::Void button2_Click_1(System::Object^  sender, System::EventArgs^  e) {
			 };

Thanks
I'm not sure how to do it with .net, but I am pretty sure you can use ShellExecute in C++ to open a directory.
Last edited on
Sorry for the late reply.

So i tried to use ShellExecute:

ShellExecute(NULL,"open","C:/test.txt",NULL,NULL,SW_SHOWNORMAL);

But then i get the following error:

error C2664: 'ShellExecuteW' : cannot convert parameter 2 from 'const char [5]' to 'LPCWSTR'
1> Types pointed to are unrelated; conversion requires reinterpret_cast, C-style cast or function-style cast
ShellExecuteW is the unicode Version of the function, to use it you will need
to prefix the strings with 'L'

eg: L"open" and L"C:/text.txt"

or specify the Ansi function by using ShellExecuteA(...)
I have tried that before as well. I then get the below error: