lnk 2028 and winusb

Hi
I'm a hardware designer attempting to use Visual C++ 2008 for the first time. I have modified some example code from Microchip that uses the winusb dll. I can write to my device but when attempting to read the programme hangs. I suspect that this is because the code is blocking and the timeout period is set to 0 (no timeout). When I attempt to set up the timeout using WinUsb_SetPipePolicy I get the lnk 2028 error, I have read that this is caused by not including libraries but my other code that uses this dll works. The problem code (from the cpp file) is reproduced below:

ErrorStatus = GetLastError();
				if(ErrorStatus == ERROR_SUCCESS)
				{
					//Now get the WinUSB interface handle by calling WinUsb_Initialize() and providing the device handle.
					USBOpen = WinUsb_Initialize(MyDeviceHandle, &MyWinUSBInterfaceHandle);

//set the timeout to 1mS
					ReadTimeOut=1;
					ReadTimeOutPtr = &ReadTimeOut;
					WinUsb_SetPipePolicy(MyWinUSBInterfaceHandle, 1, 3, 1, ReadTimeOutPtr);		
					//
				}

If I comment out the SetPipe stuff it links OK,if I mouse over WinUsb_SetPipePolicy then the compiler shows the description OK too. The DLL includes are contained in my header as shown below:

//WinUsb_Initialize() needs to be called before the application can begin sending/receiving data with the USB device.
	[DllImport("winusb.dll" , CharSet = CharSet::Seeifdef, EntryPoint="WinUsb_Initialize")]
	extern "C" BOOL WinUsb_Initialize(
		HANDLE	DeviceHandle,
		PWINUSB_INTERFACE_HANDLE InterfaceHandle);

//WinUsb_WritePipe() is the basic function used to write data to the USB device (sends data to OUT endpoints on the device)
	[DllImport("winusb.dll" , CharSet = CharSet::Seeifdef, EntryPoint="WinUsb_WritePipe")]
	extern "C" BOOL WinUsb_WritePipe(
		WINUSB_INTERFACE_HANDLE InterfaceHandle,
		UCHAR PipeID,
		PUCHAR Buffer,
		ULONG BufferLength,
		PULONG LengthTransferred,
		LPOVERLAPPED Overlapped);