Use one socket to send and receive message (using UDP)

Hi everyone,

I'm using socket API to make a simple chat program using UDP socket (SO_BROADCAST)

To make it simple, at first, I created 1 socket named "socketa" in Application "AppA" to send message and created another socket "socketb" in Application "AppB" to receive message from "AppA". It worked perfectly, but only one-way.

So, I want it to work in two-way communication, i.e. both send and receive message. I wonder whether I should create more sockets, e.g. "socketa2" in Application "AppA" to receive message and "socketb2" in Application "AppB" to send message?

So, please tell me that can a socket both Send and Receive message? And how to design this two-way communication?

I'm new to c++ and also windows socket, so I really appreciate someone giving me a detailed example how to do this.

Thanks all.
tanya9x wrote:
can a socket both Send and Receive message?

yep...

you need to know the address and port of the target... you get those information from the sockaddr structure you get back fullfilled by your sendto/recvfrom...
For more details, I post some code here. I used MFC to develop GUI, so, the extracted code is not very neat :) and for simplicity, I don't mention some trivial code.

This is code of AppA
// create socket to send message
socketa = socket(AF_INET, SOCK_DGRAM, PF_UNSPEC);
char opt[2];opt[0] = 1;opt[1] = 0; 
setsockopt(socketa, SOL_SOCKET, SO_BROADCAST,	opt, sizeof(opt));  // Broadcast socket

// use broadcast address
IN_ADDR addr; // 255,255,255,255; don't mention here
SOCKADDR_IN sendaddress;
sendaddress.sin_addr = addr; 
sendaddress.sin_family = AF_INET;
sendaddress.sin_port = htons(8009);

// this is code to send message
char buf[] = "hello world!"; // in fact, i get it from a textbox
int len = (int) strlen(buf);
sendto(socketa, (char FAR *)buf, len, 0,(const struct sockaddr FAR *)&sendaddress, sizeof(sendaddress));

This is code of AppB
// create Non-Blocking socket to send message