Display an integer in a messagebox

I have spent an afternoon trying to figure this out. What I want to do is simple, display a number in a massage. ex.

MessageBox(hwnd, 40007/*just a random number*/, "My Number is:"
,MB_OK | MB_ICONINFORMATION);

I know this messagebox has to be Const char*| const char*| unit. so I thought I would just convert the integer to const char*, but it didn't work out =/

I don't really care how it happens, I just need to make a number appear in the damn box, but it may be subject to change so I can't just make a const char* variable and make it my number...

I'm not very experienced with application programming, and I'm sure it's not a very hard problem, but I need Help :)
Last edited on
std::string String ( double Val ) {
	std::ostringstream Stream;
	Stream << Val;
	return Stream.str ( );
}

That function will return a string containing the text-equivalent of the number. Just make sure you use MessageBoxA when using that function to obtain a string.

Example:
MessageBoxA ( NULL, String ( 500 ).c_str ( ), "Number", 0 );
Last edited on
Just make sure you use MessageBoxA

No.
Never call Ansi or Unicode apis directly.
and use wsprintf() or other to format a string.

wat
wsprintf is a Windows API function that was introduced in WIN16.

In WIN16 days, the hardware was very low spec and everything needed to make as small a footprint as possible. wsprintf doesn't format floating point numbers and as such, doesn't pull in the floating point library.

That was important at the time, less so now, these days there's little reason to use it.
No.

And why not? In most cases ANSI is supported on the OS anyways.
If you #undef UNICODE before #include <windows.h> you will get only the ...A functions
@NGen:

Code portability.

@george135:

wsprintf() is Unicode though.
Use _stprintf (#include <tchar.h> ).
#include <windows.h>
#include <tchar.h>

int PrintNumber(__in int nNumber)
{
  _TCHAR szBuffer[100];

_stprintf(szBuffer, _T("%i"), nNumber);