Communicating between programs

OS = Windows XP
Compiler = dev-c++ V. 4.9.9.2

I am a novice programmer of Win32 using c++, and I was interested in learning how to get a win32 program to at least recieve data from another program, such as one written in Win32, Java or I suppose any language...

For example I am beginning to learn how to trade stocks online through
the brokerage firm "TdAmeritrade". TdAmeritrade's website has a java applet window available that enables you to get real time qoutes for any number of stocks. I want to write a win32 program that is able to retreive the quote data that is being displayed, and use that data for various purposes.

(Q1.) Can anyone tell me what subjects I need to study, in order to learn how to communicate data from my win32 program to another.

(Q2.) I don't know if anyone would be willing do this, but it would be very cool if some one could write a small win32 program demonsrating the functions that would allow a win32 program to recieve information from either a Java applet window or just any kind of other program.

THANK_YOU BuDdY!!!
hi matthew,

There are many ways to do this. But it depends heavily on your scenario. First of all the "thing" which you are looking for is called as SOCKETS, sockets are the mechanism, which allow one program to communicate with other, but for that both the programs must be aware of each others existance, that too while loading. sockets are, in true sense, interCommunication, but quite a tough to use, specially when it somes to two different programming languages.
All these things comes under the topic of interprocess communication.

Now a simple mechanism to do this is to use some files to store data from one program and read from the other one, but this has the drawback, that it is not on the fly sort of data transfer. Some how your sender has to tell your reciever that data is ready to be copied, for that you can use SIGNALS.