The reason for TranslateMessage()?

Hi guys,

I'm studying windows programing. I'm currently trying to figure out windows messages. I've run into the TranslateMessage function. I've done some searches and haven't come up with a good answer yet. I can't seem to grasp why you need to translate a window message into a thread message. If my app handles the incoming messages to the current window why would I want to turn that message into ( I'm assuming ) and equivalent thread message? Shouldn't handling it within the
WindowProc be sufficient?

Thanks for your input,
Dval
Windows GUI tend to follow a common trend:
Step:
1. Register a Window Class;
2. Create a (main) window of that class.
3. Enter the message loop.

You also provide a window procedure to handle message for the window you created.

The message loop generally looks like something like this:
{
   MSG msg;
   while (GetMessage(&msg, NULL, 0, 0) > 0) {
     TranslateMessage(&msg);
     DispatchMessage(&msg);
   }
   return msg.wParam;
 }

This message loop gets messages from your window queue.
Now this look like all windows messages for your window will go through this queue - but that is not true.
Most messages that windows generate for your application are sent directly to your Window Procedure.

Some message types that go through the queue and therefore are picked up and despatched by this loop are:
WM_PAINT
keyboard related messages.
mouse related messages

Now keyboard related messages arrive in the queue as Virtual key codes - the prupose of the TranslateMessage() function is to translate keyboard messages into WM_CHAR messages.

The DespatchMessage() function sends the message off to the window procedure.
guestgulkan, do you have an online reference that backs up the following?

Most messages that windows generate for your application are sent directly to your Window Procedure.