wish to learn unix

Hello friends

i wish to learn unix from scratch including shell scripting.I am basically an electronics engineer so no idea about it.can anybody suggest me some online good tutorial of unix or embedded linux.plz guide me in this endevour....

regards
puneet
Try Googling "Unix Tutorial". Google is your friend.

I would also recommend getting your hands on a Linux distro to play with. I've found Ubuntu to be a good starting point. It's one of the more user-friendly GNU/Linux distros.
thanks jlamothe.......................
i will try this again...actually i had dine it but did not get good source..
thanks again

regards
puneet
IMO. Download VMware Server (it's free) and a Linux distro and just play around with it. When you get stuck, google for the answer.

Some good distros:
www.opensuse.org -> prob one of the easiest
www.slackware.com
Ubuntu
Fedora
The place to start is tldp.org, the Linux Documentation Project. There are hundreds of HOWTO's on different topics, and more in-depth guides, like
"Introduction to Linux: A hands-on guide", and "BASH guide for beginners"(shell scripting), and dozens more.
If you really want to learn how linux works, I would avoid distro's like Ubuntu like the plague. They are great if you just want to point and click, but really don't teach you anything about how linux works.
What I would reccommend is having a couple of machines, one with an easily installed distro(I prefer OpenSuse and Fedora to Ubuntu),and an older one to play with.