Best OS to learn Unix/C++?

Hi guys, I've been doing C++ programming on and off for 7 years, with some C and Java mixed in over the last 4 in college. Now I'm out and looking for work and a lot of jobs I've been looking at recommend a Unix background. I've only ever worked on Windows machines, so I don't have any Unix experience. I want to experiment a bit with using C++ on a Unix OS so I was considering installing a copy of FreeBSD, Solaris 10, or Ubuntu Linux on my second hard drive. My questions for you all are 1) Which Unix OS do you recommend for my experimentation (could be different than the ones I listed), and 2) Can I run Windows and Unix on two different hard drives and pick which to boot from, or will I need to run Unix in a VM while booting into Win7? Thanks for the help!
For the purposes of OS installations, your PC doesn't care about physical hard-drives - only hard-drive partitions. You can put as many operating systems on a single physical hard-drive as you can fit into partitions, so long as your bootloader is happy to sort them all out.

You say Unix; do you really mean Unix, or do you just mean some kind of *nix type OS? If you just mean some kind of *nix, you really can't go far wrong with Ubuntu as your starter, to ease you into things.

Grab installation CD/DVD/USB, boot from it, and let the installer sort you out with extra partitions and a multi-boot menu.
Last edited on
Thanks for the quick reply. I do know about partitions, I only mentioned that because my 2nd hard drive is already formatted and ready to be partitioned while my Windows hard drive is nearly full. I was mainly concerned with the boot or VM part of it, though you answered that by saying they can both boot on the same system.