a n00b problem

Hello!

I'm a C/C++ newbie that pretends to learn by myself this programming language and I'm reading the C++ language tutorial for my first steps into it. The first example of this tutorial is the tipical "Hello World!" but I get an error compiling the code:

#include<stdio.h>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
printf("Hello World\n");
return 0;
}

hello.c:3: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or ' attribute ' before 'namespace'

According to the tutorial this shouldn't appear and that's why I'm asking.

For more notes I,m compiling under Ubuntu and using gcc 4.3.2-1ubuntu12

lotta thx
C and C++ are two distinct languages.

Choose one or the other. (Line 3 is C++, everything else is C.)

C
#include <stdio.h>

int main()
  {
  printf( "Hello world!\n" );
  return 0;
  }

C++
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
  {
  cout << "Hello world!\n";
  return 0;
  }

Hope this helps.
oh, thank you Duoas, I didn't figure that. I thought that C++ was C with some adds. BTW, is it better/more complete/more useful/more efficient to use C or C++?
You can actually use C code in C++ :

#include <iostream>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

using namespace std;

int main ()
{
 cout << "Hello World!" << endl;
 printf( "Hello World!\n" );
  return 0;

}
C++ was specifically designed to be backwards-compatible with C. Hence, you can use most of the C language in C++.

is it better/more complete/more useful/more efficient to use C or C++?
It depends on your requirements. C++ makes most things a lot easier for the programmer.

Hope this helps.
thank to both of you, but I one more question for you ;)

When I try to compile the Hello World C form the compiler couldnĀ“t find the file iostream and still appear the namespace error, why?

man, I feel like a completely noob here xD
My wild guess is that you are trying to compile a C++ program with a C compiler.

For example, the GNU compiler comes with gcc -- the C compiler, and g++ -- the C++ compiler.