The value of mathematics

Hi, first let me start by saying I am a beginner programmer(turned on by how everything works logically, which is challenging to my tiny brain) and I have yet to take any programming classes in higher education. I will start Java Programming 1 ( a prerequisite for c++ ) next semester. My only problem with computer science as my major are the required math courses.

I was never good at math, I began math my 2nd year in college @ BASIC algebra level. I have finally reached trigonometry (algebra 2 trig) which I will be taking this coming semester. If I continue on this path, it will take me 5 semesters to finish the required math courses before I can transfer to a university. (I will have finished my CS courses a semester prior)

My question is... how much math is involved in this major? I don't have anything against it, but I feel like with all the requirements I may be working against the current here. Math is definitely not a good subject for me but I am passionate about games and know what I want to do with my life.

Any comments you have are welcome, I'm just a bit nervous about the next few years.

I remember using Unity3D and needed a functions to return a 3D vector representing a specified direction around a given axis (the collision normal on any underlaying plane). Needed trigonometry and geometry for that. Math is indeed useful for programming, exspecially for game developement. I have not really programmed long enough to know its application in other forms of programming.
Last edited on