Timing Diagrams

Hi guys,

so I decided to take a foray into microprocessor architecture, I understand for the most part the logic gates that make up various parts of a processor and have some idea on the inner workings albeit a very rudimentary understanding but one thing that has me stumped is the timing diagrams, I can't for the life of me understand what they're trying to convey.

I'm studying the well known zilog z80, and I literally have no idea how to read.interpret this timing diagram, I have looked online but I'm yet to find any good explanation of timing diagrams.

Just wondering if anybody has any experience with electronics might be able to steer me in the right direction.

The diagrams are on page 2 and 3 - https://www-users.cs.york.ac.uk/~pcc/Circuits/64180/docs/z180ch2.pdf
It's a plot of several signal values over time. Time progresses from left to right.

Phi is the first signal at the top of the diagram. It's also a square wave, and the pulses (the "peaks" of the square wave) are labelled. This suggests that phi is an input, some "clock signal" that the microprocessor pays attention to. Every time its logic level changes, the uP (microprocessor) kicks into action.

The timing diagram shows how the pins of the uP react to changes in phi. It doesn't say how fast these changes take in absolute terms, but it does show how they change relative to phi's transitions.

For example, if we look to the fifth trace from the top, the signal trace labelled /M1, we can tell that /M1 will become active (active low, logic 0) in response to T1's first rising edge, and that it will remain low until T3's rising edge, at which point it will be become inactive (inactive high, logic 1) in response.

A0-A19 is a collection of 20 pins, almost certainly the address bus, which will be driven mostly in response to software. It does indicate that the bus will transition in response to all of T1's rising edges.