Making a codebase more welcoming

Hi,

I play a very small part with occasional and small contributions to a software that exists for more than 20 years.

I only started coding stuff in it relatively recently when I went to make a game in it and noticed some features I wanted were missing. I notice though that project attracts very few "passerby" contributors - at least when I compare with other projects that have relatively the same size. I also don't know how desirable this is since there's also work in explaining and guiding people to make their codes comply with the project, but I don't know much about this.

If I posted the GitHub repository here, would you people give me ideas on how to make it more welcoming to code contributions? Like how to ease the understanding of it's relatively large codebase that has pieces that are legacy.
Last edited on
You "posted the repository here" where?
I didn't, I was asking hypothetically because I didn't knew if it was allowed. Lots of forums frown from people posting links and I am not familiar with the community here yet. :)
if its spamish, we will remove it for you.
post away.
that said, the way to get people to work on a project is awareness.
they can be aware of it because they use the software, and wish it could be better.

understanding screwy code requires comments and documentation. Without it, you need constant access to the authors who can tell you what it does and why and how. At some point, once the authors are gone, if it isnt well coded, documented, and you lack an expert or two who knows how it works, it dies.
Sorry, I guess I misread your post.

The question you should first be asking is whether the project gets few contributions because it's unwelcoming, or for some other reason. E.g. it's unpopular, people are happy with it the way it is, the problem the program tries to solve is inherently difficult or understood by few, etc.