• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Should/How would I get started freelanci

Should/How would I get started freelancing?

I'm a high school senior in NYC, and I've been programming (mostly in C++) for several years.

I like the idea of doing freelance work in C++ to make some money, and most of all to acquire practical experience. However, looking through websites like Freelancer.com, it feels like most of the publicly listed freelance work is from people who either know nothing about programming and think they can pay a guy $100 for a full-scale app, or people who want someone else to do their homework for $20.

Where should I look for work in this area? Should I even try to freelance?

Thanks!
Last edited on
I've used Freelancer.com in the past. Back then the distribution was
50% absurd projects with unreasonable budgets
35% ethically questionable projects (automatic mailers and such)
10% homework
5% actually interesting stuff
The best gig I found in that last 5% was to work on an XCOM clone. I'm sure you can find something like that if you keep looking, but it does take a lot of perseverance. To freelance you need to get into the mindset that when you don't have work, your job is to find work. Personally, I didn't like that, and I didn't like how competitive that marketplace is.
That said, the real reason I stopped freelancing was because getting paid was messy. Receiving money from abroad is a hassle here.

I don't live in the US, but my understanding is that the cost of living is quite high. That gamedev gig was windfall for me, but I don't think it's a livable wage for someone in the US. Contractors typical earn more than employees because they don't get any benefits; freelancing you'd probably make less than a regular employee.

Then again, maybe I'm totally off-base.
Thanks a lot for the response, and you're definitely not off-base.

I live in NYC, which is the epitome of high cost of living in the US, then again I'm not even 17 yet.