General C++ Programming - June 2013 (Page 18)

C++ Primer 5e vs C++ Primer Plus 6e

Which one is better for beginner If i just wanna buy one book
[1 reply] : C++ Primer 5th Edition is more of a reference book than a book for beg... (by Pebble)
C++ Templates

I just started getting into templates.I am trying to code this so it supports all data types instead of just int. i know what i did is wrong for sure. please sh...
[3 replies] Last: Does it compile? (by firedraco)
Information on Non-default member class whose argument is another class

Hello All, I have 2 sets of code. Once compiles and the other doesn't. But I don't understand why. Can somebody please help? I started coding cpp just...
[11 replies] Last: You're welcome! (by MikeyBoy)
Check for symbols

I need a function to check if the inputted string contains a colon. It has to be in an if loop as the condition.
[1 reply] : If you mean a character array then you can use standard C function str... (by vlad from moscow)
Using memory pools

How can i use memory pool with a char array? Is there a way to allocate memory somewhere in the middle of the array? i.e. allocate memory in chunks. eg. al...
[7 replies] Last: Hmmm... maybe it's too involved a question for here? But there is qui... (by andywestken)
A quick problem reguarding strings

Hi there, I am very new to C++ and I am encountering a problem in my work. I have a program that Adds, Removes, Sorts, Finds, and Displays character inputs, su...
[6 replies] Last: Perhaps an example? Keep in mind I am very new. I started a class le... (by thebawt)
string add

if string str = "sfsdfsd" and i want to add like str +str but it return some integer value why? and how to fix it?
[3 replies] Last: Even better, you could you post a small, complete program that illustr... (by andywestken)
C++ Generic Problem

#include <iostream> using namespace std; template <typename T> void swap(T & a , T & b); template <typename T> void swap(T & a , T & b) { T tem...