Compiles but "Stops Responding" Any safer way to use memove?

Hi I am relatively new to c/c++ and have created this function that takes 2 char arrays and compares them by index, by adding in dummy index's where one has them and the other does so they become the same.

When i run my program it can run for a few runs but then stops responding, I think i have tracked the problem down to my if and else if statements where my with printf (4 and 6) come out, as far as i know my memmove statements are unsafe or going out of bounds or something.

Is there a safer/simpler way to move the tail of the arrays to a temp one so that the dummy nodes can be placed and then tail be put back on to the original array?

Thanks in advance.
Last edited on
It is unclear whether you were trying to use C, or C++.

nukem266 wrote:
Any safer way to use memove?
Nope, dealing with raw memory is inherently unsafe.

Could you explain in more detail what you're trying to do? I'm sure there's a much simpler and much safer way to do it.
Hi LB,

I am using a bit of both c++ mainly, although i am very new to both of them.

The function as i said at the top memcpys 2 arrays into from previously made population of 500.

Reason for the copy is because I am manipulating them and do not want to change the originals.

1 into fittestprog -- ( this stays the same throughout a generation of 500)
1 into compared_p ( this is the other 499 best is also included in this. )

I then have to compare both the arrays to each other, to do that i have to add in dummy indexes where they exist in one array and not the other and vice versa.

So for example.

fittestprog{4532412}
compared_p{55326112}

To make them the same i have to add in the nodes deepening on the arity (if you have ever worked with binary trees it is very similar) the code below explains the arity for the next part each token is represented by 1,2,3,4,5,6,7

arity is declared 1 less than it is.

7 being my ghost(dummy) node

fittestprog{45324712}