"Unlimited Instances"

How can you have an "unlimited" number of classes (eg. they are allocated as they are needed) rather than allocating like 100 instances when your program starts? I know there are "Linked Lists" but I am wondering if there are any easier ways for making a bunch of instances.

This question is kinda hard to explain, but basically I want to know what the best way is to have classes created as they are needed rather than allocating unnecessary instances (eg. allocating 100 and the user only needs 3). Vectors? Linked lists? Any other ways? Please be specific because I am very new to C++.

Thanks in advance!

Brad
If by "unlimited" you mean "arbitrary", and by "classes" you mean "objects", then that's always possible.

Vectors and linked lists both work for what you want to do, but they are used for different growth and access patterns.
When to use vectors: When the number of objects increase either few times, or by big increments. More importantly, when the objects need to be quickly accessed randomly (e.g. first index 4, then 145641, then 122).
When to use linked lists: When it's necessary to insert objects in the middle of the list (e.g. to add sorted). When it's okay to only be able to sequentially access nodes (e.g. 1, 2, 3; or 7, 6, 5).

It's also possible to do it without using vectors or lists, by means of arrays of pointers and dynamic allocation.

For a newbie, vectors are probably the easiest to use.
Last edited on
The best way to do this is using dynamic allocations. Assume you have the following class:

class employee
   {
   private:
      string name;
      string ID;

public:
      employee(string, string);  //Constructor
      ~employee();  //Destructor
      //Get and Set methods
   };

when you want to create an instance of this class, for example adding an employee to the system you would do the following:

employee* newEmp = new employee("Bob", "234980");