pointers

I'm in my second semester of c++. We have just finished up with pointers and I'm very confused as to why I would use a pointer than to just use a normal variable.

Could someone explain to me why pointers exist and why I should use them.

Thank you,
Jarrod
If you put everything on the stack, you'll run out of memory. If you want to use more memory, you'll have to use the heap. If you want to use the heap, you have to use new. If you use new, it gives you a pointer to the memory in the heap.

Like this, for example:

int* p = new int[300000000];

I'll be very impressed if you can put an array of 300000000 int values on your stack. :) Depending on your hardware and/or operating system, stacks of just a few kb are not unknown.

Someone else can give you the next reason.

use a pointer than to just use a normal variable.

A pointer IS a normal variable.
Last edited on
Besides that pointers can be used to guarantee that an argument is going to change (although in C++ usually references are used for that) inside a function.

Another useful aspect of using pointers will be understood later (when you would learn about polymorphism) where you can use a pointer as a family of objects rather than as a specific object.
To be more clear instead of referring to an Object1 you could be referring to Object1 and all of its derived objects. Something similar for the build-in types might have been if instead of int you would have also char, long etc. The latter does not work but you can get the picture.

Anyway maybe bad example. The point is pointer are quite useful in C/C++ and you will get that as you learn more.
Represent relationships. By instance, graphs.
pointers are primarly used to alocate memory storage for variables and objects on the heap.

memory is divided into 2 "parts": stack and heap.
since stack is limited to your program you're forced to use heap... so to do so u use pointers.