C++ DLL Dependency

I recently started learning coding in c++ after I learned (not too much experience) c. I have the code::blocks IDE and mingw compiler. I have seen that the compiled c executables are way smaller because they aren't DLL dependent (please correct me if I am wrong). So I was wondering if there was any way to make the compiled c++ executables not DLL dependent, as I have researched this and gotten no good answer.
Last edited on

GLLEES (1)
I recently started learning coding in c++ after I learned (not too much experience) c. I have the code::blocks IDE and mingw compiler. I have seen that the compiled c executables are way smaller because they aren't DLL dependent (please correct me if I am wrong). So I was wondering if there was any way to make the compiled c++ executables not DLL dependent, as I have researched this and gotten no good answer.

there is a concept 'static linkage' (embed the library into the executable program) and dynamic linkage (leave it in a .dll file) that could be an issue.
also note that c++ tools like to make debug builds by default, be sure you compiled it as release to get rid of that bloat in the executable file.
c++ does tend to be slightly larger than C when it compiles. visual studio has settings to favor smaller executable files vs faster vs other ideas. I do not know how many things you can tamper with using your tools.

how much difference are you seeing? The size of the executable file does not directly relate to the performance (could be that inline bloated the size but runs faster) but it is tangential to it as it does cost to read a larger file into memory and to swap the pages around and all that stuff. It is not something most people worry about in the modern world; are you working on an embedded project?

a typical homework/school program on g++ for me gives me a 150k .exe file on windows.
Last edited on