Everything is an object...

I have been working on my own project for a while, it's an OOP framework around SDL2. I've been following a shallow depth form of "everything is an object". I have some experience with java/android programming, so it made sense to me to go that route at the time.

I've heard many developers are very much against this approach, but what are the key arguments against it?

My current framework allows for dynamicaly loaded plugin-objects (drag and drop a .dll or .so on the window and a new boss fight is initiated, or a new level is added to the game), is there a "better solution" that would allow that as well?
Last edited on
To put it in the simplest terms possible, unless you're writing a AAA title working on the bleeding edge of technology, don't worry too much about it. Design your code optimizing development effort. Your code will run fine and you won't create additional work for yourself.

OOP is out of fashion in gamedev circles in favor of data-driven design because the latter leads to more efficient hardware utilization, particularly when doing things like applying a function to a large homogeneous collection. Nowadays performance is so abundant that for the majority of games, particular small ones, it just doesn't make sense to do this.