Analyse a beam

Pages: 123
I’m not sure which section I should put this in. I’m just starting to learn C++ after many years of using various BASIC languages. I have often looked at C and C++ but hated the braces and so didn’t get my feet wet. Most tutorials for computer languages seem to revolve around subjects that have little interest to me, so invariably I use the same format to get me into the language: I develop a program for designing a simply supported beam. This requires input and output, variables of different types, arrays, loops, conditionals such as if..else and case(switch) and so on. So it gives me a reasonable grounding.

I’ve produced a program in C++, which has been converted from a BASIC program. This, I think, can be seen from its content. Since I have only just started, it doesn’t contain any classes or structs, or for that matter functions (other than main()). I have included the code to demonstrate what can be done at any early stage of learning. However, the program might be of interest to Structural/Civil Engineers, Architects and Builders. My intention would be to develop it further, both in a more advanced structure and also so that it can be used in developing reinforced concrete and steel beams. I did this many years ago using BASIC and this was used by the Architect I worked for to submit calculations to the local authority. However, standards have moved on a lot since then!

I'll submit the program in another submission

Rather than making multiple separate threads - simply reply to this one.

Hint on pasting code:

[code]your code here[/code]
I did try but the code brackets on the input box didn't work. Can I just type it in as you have done above. It was messy setting up 3 postings. There you go it works this time!. Would it be better if I tried again and deleted the three postings I have made?
You can delete your own posts if you wish - if there are no other replies, the entire thread should disappear.