Need help with programming assignment.

I'm a complete newbie to C++ and only know some basic functions, my professor on the other hand must think that we all understand this language and what he's telling us to do, but to me and my mates in class, he just seems like an alien trying to communicate. Anyways, my problem is that I have a programming assignment and don't really know where to go from writing my name. As I am a student in college I must write the program alone and not copy anything, but I don't really understand the instructions. So what I am asking is that hopefully one of you guys can explain to me what I have to do.
The program is to create a basic game where the user is to locate bombs and defuse them before they go off. They have 20 tries(200 seconds) and the game gets harder/easier depending on if they win or lose. My first question is,

- The professor asks us to create a building that is 0-99 in all 3 directions. What does he mean by this? What directions? I was assuming a X Y coordinate graph so (cons int x_dim = 99 and cons int y_dim = 99) but then what would be the third direction?

- We are asked to call srand( time( null ) ). We have never even learned how to use srand so I am very confused as to what to do for this one.

For now I am asking those 2 questions, if I am to find the solution to them then I might be able to go from there, but whenever I get stuck i'll keep you guys posted. Please help!
0-99 in all 3 directions

A cube, it has height, width and depth - or x, y and z if you prefer.

0 to 99 means 100 elements, (same quantity as 1 to 100) but it starts counting from zero as arrays do in C++. const int x_dim = 100;

srand( time( null ) )
Your program will work without this, but it will generate the same sequence of random numbers every time it is run. Using the current time as a seed to the random number generator helps ensure that different random numbers are generated. But call srand() once only, at the start of main().

See