SFML storing drawables?

Hello!

I'd like to make games in future, so I started learning SFML. In sfml there are classes for e.g. texts, shapes and others, which all derive from sf::Drawable, so you can draw them in the same way. My question is how should I store objects of those classes? I'd like to use stack when possible (now I'm creating pong, so no heap is requaried) and be able to use methods of derived objects, like setFont() for text class. Should I use some kind of unordered map of sf::Drawable references with polymorphism and string as key or is there any better way, preferably such one, that I can use real variable names and not strings?

Thanks in advance.
Last edited on
Maybe I should make std::array and std::vector of something like boost.any? This way I could use all functions, for stack and heap. Maybe there's something more I can do to detect if it's from stack or heap.
If they're all of type sf::Drawable, I'd go with a vector<sf::Drawable*>
Yeah, but I'd like to avoid a lot of dynamic_cast, I want to access methods of only specific classes, like sf::Text::setFont() . Plus wouldn't unordered_map be faster? And I could name my objects.
Why do you feel you may only have one container? Just have a different container for each type of object so that C++'s type system can protect you from having to cast anything. Though really I question why you need any containers at all for a pong game...
Last edited on
It seems you have a bit of a conflict. You want them all in one list, which implies you want to treat them all the same. But you want to handle them by calling class specific functions. What kind of code are you planning to write that will iterate through all things that are drawable but do things specific to the actual type?
First, I agree in pong there is no need for container, I'd like to know how to store them for future games. Second I need prefferably one container for those objects, so that I can just