Sockets and threads: problem with recv

Hi forum!

I'm quite new to this sockets and threads stuff, so excuse me in advance if this is dumb question. But I've been testing and googling for a couple days and still don't figure out what I'm I doing wrong.

The situation:

I want to wrap a call to recv inside a thread so if for some reason the server doesn't respond in n seconds I can kill the thread and inform the user.

I've put together all data I think I need about the socket in a struct, so I can pass a reference to it to my controlling function:
typedef struct THREADSOCKETIO {
	SOCKET socket;		// socket handler
	char * data;		// send/recv buffer
	int length;		// buffer size
	int ret_length;		// value returned by send/recv
	BOOL done;		// flag to indicate send/recv has returned
} THREADSOCKETIO;

Now my controlling function (I'll show recv only for the shake of brevity)
UINT CReaderLogic::SocketRecvThread( LPVOID lParam )	// yep, this is static
{
	THREADSOCKETIO *params = (THREADSOCKETIO *)lParam;
	params->ret_length = recv( params->socket, params->data, params->length, 0 );
	params->done = TRUE;
	return 0;
}

And finally a code snippet of the calling routine:
//...
CWinThread *sockThread;
DWORD threadStatus;
BYTE ucpResponse[520];
int length = 520;
int retlength;
THREADSOCKETIO *sockParams = new THREADSOCKETIO;

sockParams->socket = sock;		// valid initialized socket handler
sockParams->data = (char *)data;	// buffer where I want the received data
sockParams->length = length;		// buffer size
sockParams->done =  FALSE;		// the "I'm done" flag
// Launch thread: 
sockThread = AfxBeginThread( SocketRecvThread, sockParams );

// point (a), for later reference

// This is my oh-so-simple attempt to controll that recv
// doesn't take more than <timeout> millisecs
int attempt = 0;
while ( !sockParams->done && ( attempt++ < timeout ) ) {
	Sleep( 1 );
}

// point (b), for later reference

if ( !sockParams->done ) {
	// killing thread code I don't want to bore you with