Beginners - September 2015 (Page 17)

Frequency of Words in 2D array

Hi, I am in an intro programming class where we use qt creator and program in C/C++. My current assignment is to read in passwords from a document into a 2D...
[2 replies] Last: UNIX is your friend: system("sort words.txt | uniq -c | sort -n | tai... (by dhayden)
by Dazzer
Noob question about library source code

Consider the following: #include "stdafx.h" #include <iostream> int main() { std::cout << "I am a noob.\n"; } The "std::cout" part points to a library f...
[3 replies] Last: What do you mean by "non-source library"? There are libraries where ... (by MiiNiPaa)
If, Else statements help

I just started learning C++ last week. I'm trying to write a simple code using if and else statements, apparently there is an error in my code and I can't ident...
[4 replies] Last: Thanks for that tip. Here is the updated code. *sigh* I still have ... (by Stevecaresx)
Passing struct arrays to functions

The following example is discussed in the tutorial on this link: http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/structures/ I have two confusions here. 1) The fun...
[2 replies] Last: OK. Thanks alot. (by saherch)
Constants and Declarations

I have this hw problem. This is an example of one of the seven I need. Am I declaring the double symbolic constant right? "The program should use at least seven...
[4 replies] Last: Ah, I see. And yes, although you can do quite powerful things with th... (by Norm Gunderson)
enum, typedef & switch/if comparison?

I got two questions: 1. Is the "enum" keyword nothing more than a typedef of "const unsigned int"? 2. Is a switch statement nothing more than a cleaner-lo...
[6 replies] Last: Sweet. That's a lot of great replies, thanks. :) (by Madolite)
Can i get help with C# ( ToUpper() )?

So i need to correct the capitalization of the string so that every first letter would be Upper, here's what i've done (not sure if i'm using the Substring corr...