Beginners - October 2016 (Page 22)

Array multiplication

I want to multiply every 2 elements in an array then add it all up. And this array is pretty large so O(n^2) will fail. I think I should use divide and conquer ...
[6 replies] Last: My mistake for typing it wrong!! And thanks for the advice. (by tomtran3110)
How do I determine the highest and lowest values from a text file?

For part of my assignment I have to do what the title says. Here's the file's contents. 95 100 120 130 135 145 155 185 190 160 130 120 Wh...
[2 replies] Last: #include <iostream> #include <fstream> #include <limits> using names... (by closed account ybf3AqkS)
by G9C89
Multiplication help

Hi, I am kinda new to programming and I wanted to know.. 1.Let's say I have a variable x. (Int x) 2.Using a for loop I am letting the person to type 10 numbers...
[3 replies] Last: @Boilerplate , @integralfx, Worked like a charm, thanks! (by G9C89)
tracing functions inside of functions

Hi, I need help tracing how to get the value for y in the main function below. I understand how to get x and z. the output is x = 12 y = 108 z = 8 I as...
[1 reply] : Never mind I just looked at it again and realized x's value changed. s... (by monkeyPlusPlus)
stack class query

The program below is from a book I'm using to learn programming. While I understand almost every aspect of the code. I have a question. The program below ...
[2 replies] Last: Thank you Hirokachi, but if I have two stacks, how do I know which sta... (by avillageofbigheads)
Weekly Pay roll

My problem arises when hours or pay rate is 0 as an input but the program does not calculate it as a 0. I tried inputting 0 as the hours on the first 3 lines o...
[1 reply] : Program works fine. You just don't write to outfile when gross pay is ... (by vin)
set question

Can we use set data structure with pair of values? If yes, how would the values be sorted? Would it be sorted based on first value in the pair?