Beginners - November 2014 (Page 54)

Finding number of substrings in string

I'm trying to understand the basic logic of this loop, my book (jumping into c++) just got into methods and the stl at page 210 so bear with me please: strin...
[3 replies] Last: You are correct, but the code isn't stepping past "cat", it's only st... (by d1ff1cul1010)
How do I open a file in one routine and close it in a separate routine or is this forbidden?

Unfortunately I have many years of experience with structural programming and the lessons I have learned over the years do not translate well to object oriented...
[5 replies] Last: As we all know using '&' to pass by reference in a function/call arran... (by closed account 48T7M4Gy)
Question On fin.get()

Just trying to confirm if I correctly understand this function. So based on how the code below each time fin.get() is called, the next character on the file ...
[1 reply] : Your understanding seems correct. (by jlb)
Problem outputting a fraction instead of a decimal

I am writing a program that takes from the user 2 numbers to represent the numerator and the denominator of a fraction, and it will then check if any of the num...
[1 reply] : Maybe what I wrote in this thread might help. http://www.cplusplus.co... (by closed account 48T7M4Gy)
Converting program to use arrays

Hi, I have a program that reads data from an input file, uses 3 nested loops, and writes the data to an output file. It stores 3 students personal info, and 5 ...
[11 replies] Last: Well, i just decided that it wasn't possible and did it this way to ge... (by forbesthebrit)
by Akigou
Uninitialized Variables ( Phone bill program )

I'm trying to call a function into another function but It keeps giving me that the two variables I have in in the "read_and_total" function I'm tring to call i...
[3 replies] Last: It's not clear to me which function you are calling so I can only gues... (by closed account 48T7M4Gy)
Why doesnt my code simplify fractions properly?