Beginners - July 2012 (Page 43)

Counting characters, then output total

I'm writing a program that counts characters from a file, and outputs the answer to the screen. I've got some code, but I'm really confused on getting the answe...
[3 replies] Last: Here are the instructions, verbatim: Write a program to read a file ca... (by C Minus Minus)
by dubleD
Xcode (c++) into terminal

Sorry, this is a repost, but I just can't seem to figure this out. I'm currently running a program through the terminal, and making commands to this program ...
[5 replies] Last: yeah, I can't look at the code right now but if I remember correctly i... (by dubleD)
RETURN SUCCESS VS RETURN 0

As in the title, what is the difference between RETURN SUCCESS and RETURN 0? Thanks. Bosco
[17 replies] Last: Or than return not success; xP return ERROR_SUCCESS; ... ¿what?... (by ne555)
Interrupting XP load sequence

Hi, I am fairly new to C++ and I was just wondering if there was any way to interrupt the XP loading sequence to start up a console program instead of the welco...
[2 replies] Last: Basically, yes. But... I only want the console application. The only... (by PoddyCo)
Splitting a String.

--
[2 replies] Last: stringstreams are handy for extracting numerics out of strings: #inc... (by Texan40)
Set & Get methods

#include <iostream> #include <string> using namespace std; class books{ public: void setName(string name){ name = The New Particle; } string getName(){ retur...
[1 reply] : Your example is invalid because it will not be compiled. Nevertheless... (by vlad from moscow)
Absolute value function?

I am writing a program to a number closest to 100 from a list of numbers. I am not familiar with the syntax. Would I declare int=x, and x (abs=100)?
[7 replies] Last: My congratulations! I think C Plus Plus and C Minus Minus will give C ... (by vlad from moscow)
C++ endl