Beginners - July 2012 (Page 15)

Alternative to system("Pause");

I spent about and hour reading past topics in the forum, and yes I know this is a sore point. So as a beginner, I would like to get it right from the start. I u...
[9 replies] Last: Oops! Not the old system("CLS"); again LOL (by Vagabond)
by sanu
how to read files from the subdirectories

Hi all!>. I have having trouble again to open the files that are saved in sub directories of my project..Pls assist. Thank you.
[5 replies] Last: THanks all. (by sanu)
Program skipping cin

I am having a problem with my program skipping the second part of the cin. It works up until line 17 and then after you enter your first name it just couts Ente...
[8 replies] Last: I'm not sure there's any need for file input/output in this. (by Moschops)
by watiss
variable type?

Hello, I've started C++ programming not more than a couple of days ago... and there is a question I cannot find any answer to on the web, so I thoght of posti...
[7 replies] Last: Thank you all for the replies. Honestly it still isn't what I looked f... (by watiss)
by krok
Not an lvalue error

Hi, I am a beginner in c++ and trying to learn the language through practice. I am getting this error "Expression must be a modifiable lvalue" for one of my ...
[4 replies] Last: Thanks a lot Peter! Much appreciated. (by krok)
Encode Char to UTF8

Hi!. My question is simple. I need to encode a char array like "áéí" in UTF8. For example 'á' must be converted to "á" Thanks in advance!
[11 replies] Last: I'm using vs 2008 win32. You need more info? Thanks in advance (by Javi OD)
creating bidirectional iterator

I have searched the internet and have found no good examples. With the only examples that I did find stated that this is not part of the standard and that it w...
[9 replies] Last: > I thought I read somewhere that Iterator_Traits was the old method t... (by JLBorges)
What data type do I use for decimals?